It’s been a long time since I’ve posted, but I’m going to try to move back to once a week.  I’ve been going through a lot of changes this year.  I graduated from Rider University with my Bachelor’s degree in Liberal Studies, summa cum laude after completing a research project for which I was granted $5000 in tuition.  It was quite an accomplishment for me and I’m very proud that I’ve finally reached that goal.  Now, it’s time to get healthy!  My son became vegan sometime during the last year and as a family we decided that it would just be easier if we made all of our dinners vegan.  That started the first transition.  We bought an amazing cookbook called “The Veganomican” by Isa Chandra Moskovitz and it is by far the most amazing cookbook that I’ve ever owned!  We’ve actually thanked our son for making the choice that he did because we never would have figured out how to cook this way if he hadn’t.

My next transition on this journey was to join the Wellness Club at our local Whole Foods store.  This gives me cooking classes (all vegan), nutrition classes and exercise classes.  I just joined on January 8th and have taken two cooking classes and two yoga classes.  I am scheduled to take two more yoga classes tomorrow and two more nutrition classes this week.  I am getting my money’s worth and enjoying it.  I’m hoping that this will be the push that I need to finally lose those extra 40 lbs of baby weight I’ve been carrying around for 15 years!  I will continue to blog about my experiences at the Wellness club, but for this post, I’d like to focus on change and how it affects others.

You would think that other people, especially your relatives, would be supportive when you are making positive changes in your life.  However, that’s not always the case.  In many situations, these very people seem to want you not to change.  Why is that?  Is there fear?  Do they feel threatened?  Do they feel guilty because they’re not willing to make the same change?  I’m not sure exactly what the psychology is, but I do know that I hate it.  I try to cheer people on in any endeavor they make in their life which will result in further happiness.  I don’t understand why people take changes that I make in my own life personally, perhaps I never will.  Any insights?  Have you made changes in your life and found people, especially relatives to be less than supportive?

